UK Wrestling Round-Up (13/7/15)

Added by Michael Jolly

Announced via The Indy Corner this week, Vertigo Pro Wrestling & Calling Spots Magazine have struck up a partnership together and will present a 16-Man Tournament to be held over the coming months starting with the first round matches at VPW “Into the Hills”, Theatr Soar, Merthyr Tydfil on September 12th. This event is open to wrestlers who have a contract with Vertigo Pro Wrestling and wrestlers who don’t. The winner of the “Calling Spots Open Championship” will get a guaranteed shot at the current Vertigo Pro Champion, Dave Mastiff. This will be very interesting to see who will be able to get a spot into the 16 brackets and to see who will face who, I personally can’t wait to see how this turns out and as I’m writing this the first match for the event has been made and will be, Marty Scurll against Sabastian Radclaw.

Preston City Wrestling hosted it’s 2nd FREE “Tribute To The Troops” show this past Saturday to a hungry Preston crowd and were served an amazing day of wrestling. Martin Kirby won The Money In The Bank Match, Team 3D (Bully Ray & Devon Dudley) defeated Team Single in a Tables Match but we’re then informed by GM Joanna Rose that the Tag Titles weren’t on the line, Bubblegum was able to keep hold of his Cruiserweight Championship against Rockstar Spud with the help of his feet on the ropes and in the Main Event, Dave Mastiff became the *NEW* PCW Heavyweight Champion by defeating ‘The Masterpiece’ Chris Masters.

Insane Championship Wrestling have signed Kay Lee Ray to face Kasey Owens at “Spacebaws Episode II: Come As You Are” in the 4th ICW Women’s Championship Tournament Quarter-Final Match which will take place at The Garage, Glasgow on August 30th. The other Quater-Final matches that will happen during 2nd – 23rd August will be Nikki Storm vs Debbie Sharpe at “Now For Something Completely Different” on the 9th, Sammi Jane vs Layla Rose at “The Ministry Of Silly Headlocks” on the 16th and Viper vs Sara at “A Horse, A Spoon & A Bucket” held on the 23rd.

PROGRESS Wrestling have now included Dave Mastiff vs Noam Dar to their “Chapter 20: THUNDERBASTARD: Beyond THUNDERBASTARD” show which will be held on July 26th from The Electric Ballroom, Camden, London. This will be a rematch from their last meeting at the #SSS16 Tournament which ended in a referee stoppage and it would be unfair for the wrestling fans to not see a rematch, hopefully we will get a clear winner this time. Also on the card; Jimmy Havoc will defend his Championship against the winner of the #SSS16 Tournament, Will Ospreay, in a No DQ match with The London Riots at ringside. The Hunter Brothers (Jim & Lee Hunter) will challenge The Sumerian Death Squad (Tommy End & Michael Dante) for the Tag Team Championship and the winner of the THUNDERBASTARD Match will receive a guaranteed title shot.

HOPE Wrestling have informed us that former WWE superstar, Carlito and WWE Legend ‘Hacksaw’ Jim Duggan will no longer be appearing at their “Supershow Weekend: 2nd Anniversary” shows held over July 17th & 18th. Management have been quick to replace them and updated the card. We will now see Lionheart vs Bubblegum, T-Bone vs ‘Pastor’ William Eaver, Joey Hayes vs Joe Hendry and an 8-Person Tag Match on the 17th. Jack Jester vs Rampage Brown, Martina Kirby (Martin Kirby) vs Viper, Bubblegum vs Matt Myers, Paul Malen vs B.T. Gunn and a 30 Man Rumble to determine the #1 Contender for the HOPE Championship have all now been added to the 18th.

IPW:UK have made it known that on October 11th at their “Just Too Good” show, which will be held at White Oaks Leisure Centre Swanley, former WWE Cryme Tyme member, JTG and ROH star, Tommaso Ciampa will both be making their debut for the company. If you’ve not seen Tommaso live then make sure to get your tickets as this guy is amazing to watch.

NWA: Fight Nation have announced this week that former TNA Television & World Tag Team Champion, ‘The Modern Day Viking’ Gunner will be making his debut for them when they return to Eastbourne, November 6th for “Eastbourne Return” at the Atlantis Nightclub.

VII Pro Wrestling have this week announced that on August 14th, at their “Swipe Right For Superkick” show, live from The Hive in Shrewsbury, we will welcome back to the UK the TNA Bootcamp Series 2 winner and making is debut for the company, our very own Mark Andrews.

Kamikaze Pro have now added a 6-Man Elimination Match for the Relentless Division Championship between, Damian Dunne, Ryan Smile, Chris Brookes, Dan Moloney, Ethan Silver and Champion Marshall X, they have also included Robbie X putting his Championship on the line against Kay Lee Ray at their next show titled “Monster” on July 19th at The Cadbury Club in Bournville. Other matches scheduled for the night will include; a Monsters Ball Match between TNA’s very own Abyss and Clint Margera (I wonder if Abyss can get Janice through customs). ‘The Queen of Swag’ Chardonnay will take on Sebastian Radclaw and The Hunter Brothers (Jim & Lee Hunter) will defend their Tag Titles against Project Lucha (El Ligero & Martin Kirby).

Leicester Championship Wrestling saw the crowning of 2 new champions on July 4th at their “Summertime” show when Cy Gregory & Marc Massa were both able to defeat The Hunter Brothers (Lee & Jim Hunter) to become LCW’s *NEW* Tag Team Champions, Chris Tyler became the *NEW* LCW Young Guns Champion by defeating H.C. Dyer, Ryan Smile and T.K. Hayward in a very good 4-Way Match. However Joseph Conners stayed your LCW Champion after he was disqualified when facing off against Alex Gracie in a very entertaining match. Let’s hope that Gracie gets a second shot and possibly have it as a NO DQ!

New Generation Wrestling hosted their “Ultimate Showdown” event on July 5th from Hull City, Hull, where we saw the ‘Wild Boar’ Mike Hitchman defeat both El Ligero and Bubblegum to advance in the GenX League, Matt Myers beat Dara Diablo via disqualification when he has attacked with a chair, after the match Diablo continued to attack Myers but was stopped by El Ligero. Dara Diablo would then hand a contract to Ligero who refused to sign it and instead attacked Diablo, once Ligero was satisfied he then signed the contract that was given to him and with this act sets up the long anticipated match between the two former friends. The London Riots (Rob Lynch & James Davis) were beaten by the team of Stixx & Collossus Kennedy, however as it was by count out The London Riots retained their NGW Tag Team Championship. In the Main Event, Nathan Cruz became the *NEW* Undisputed NGW Champion by defeating Rampage Brown even though he was hit with the belt by Rampage and also attacked by The Proven who had come to the ring.

Leave a Reply